Skip to content ↓

National Curriculum - 2014

From September 2014 there is an expectation from the government for all mainstream primary schools to deliver the new National Curriculum. During the course of  this academic year and beyond to 2015, the obligation to teach programmes of study from the existing national curriculum has been disapplied and new programmes of study and attainment targets will eventually completely replace the existing national curriculum. We have therefore adapted our School curriculum accordingly to ensure that we meet the current aims and statutory requirements.

At Wyken Croft Primary school we believe in providing children with a broad, balanced curriculum that provides first hand experiences and builds on children’s prior knowledge. When children start school in Nursery or Reception they work on all the areas of learning in the Early Years Foundation Stage.  This includes learning indoors and outdoors in our purpose-built outdoor learning area.  All children then follow the National Curriculum. In addition to the emphasis we put on the importance of English and Mathematics we offer varied and exciting opportunities in all subjects.

Through our curriculum of English, Maths, Science, Computing, Physical Education, Religious Education and PSHE and our thematic approach that includes History, Geography, Art & Design and Design Technology we develop children’s abilities, interests and potential in order to prepare them for the next stage in their lives. We use a broad range of teaching strategies that take into account the ways in which children learn in order to foster engagement, motivation and creativity.

With the introduction of the new curriculum, the use of levels to assess pupil progress has been removed.  The DfE have given schools the freedom to introduce their own approaches to formative assessment that best suits their school and curriculum. We see this as an exciting opportunity to develop a robust system of tracking progress across the whole curriculum.

Please be aware that Years 2 and 6 will continue to be assessed using levels for this year only (2014-15) as directed by the DfE. Other year groups will be assessed without levels.

The main changes   

The table below summarises the main changes in the core subjects.

Subject What’s new?
  • Stronger emphasis on vocabulary development, grammar, punctuation and spelling (for example, the use of commas and apostrophes will be taught in KS1)
  • Handwriting (not currently assessed under the national curriculum) is expected to be fluent, legible and speedy

Spoken English has a greater emphasis, with children to be taught debating  and presenting skills.

  • Five-year-olds will be expected to learn to count up to 100(compared to 20 under the current curriculum) and learn number bonds to 20 (currently up to 10)
  • Simple fractions (1/4 and 1/2) will be taught from KS1, and by the end of primary school, children should be able to convert decimal fractions to simple fractions (e.g. 0.375 = 3/8)
  • By the age of nine, children will be expected to know times tables up to 12×12 (currently 10×10 by the end of primary school)
Calculators will not be introduced until near the end of KS2, to encourage mental arithmetic.
  • Strong focus on scientific knowledge and language, rather than understanding the nature and methods of science in abstract terms
  • Evolution will be taught in primary schools for the first time
Non-core subjects like caring for animals will be replaced by topics like the human circulatory system
Design & technology
  • Design and Technology has become more important in  the new curriculum, setting children on the path to becoming the designers and engineers of the future
  • More sophisticated use of design equipment such as electronics and robotics
In KS2, children will learn about how key events and individuals in design and technology have shaped the world.
  • Computing replaces Information and Communication Technology (ICT), with a greater focus on programming rather than on operating programs
  • From age five, children will learn to write and test simple programs, and to organise, store and retrieve data
  • From seven, they will be taught to understand computer networks, including the internet
Internet safety – currently only taught from 11-16 – will be taught in primary schools
Languages Currently not statutory, a modern foreign language or ancient language (Latin or Greek) will be mandatory in KS2. Children will be expected to master basic grammar and accurate pronunciation and to converse, present, read and write in the language


Phonics and Reading Schemes

We use the following to help the provision of English within the schools:

  • A range of books 'banded' according to difficulty are used for Guided Reading across school, including Rigby Star, Discovery World, Oxford Reading Tree & Collins Literacy World.
  • A range of 'banded' books are used for 'Home Readers', including Project X, ORT, TreeTops and Songbirds. Children generally move to age-appropriate 'real books' from around Year 2.
  • Nursery & Reception use Jolly Phonics alongside Letters & Sounds to teach Phonics. Key Stage 1 (Y1 & Y2) use Letters & Sounds. PhonicsPlay website resources are used to support teaching and learning.

In order to prepare pupils for the more ambitious end of year expectations in English, Mathematics and Science, as set out in the new curriculum, teachers at Wyken Croft Primary will amend their delivery of the programmes of study detailed above as is appropriate. New programmes of study for English, Mathematics and Science will be adopted in full from September 2014, in line with guidance from the Department for Education.

Department for Education Website

For more information about our curriculum please contact the school office.